New Scholarship Students of the 2018 Program “For Women in Science”

Dr Miroslava Nedyalkova, Dr Magdalena Baymakova and Dr Mira Byvas are the winners of the National Scholarship Program “For women in science” in Bulgaria. Thanks to L’Oreal, the National Commission of the Republic of Bulgaria for UNESCO and Sofia University “St Kliment Ohridski” the event has been organized for 8 years now. These prestigious prizes were awarded for important scientific projects in the field of natural sciences at an official ceremony at Sofia University “St Kliment Ohridski” on October 31st this year.

This is a unique global program created to help and encourage young women to make studies in the sphere of exact sciencesa field in which their presence is not sufficient. The winners of the National Competition compete with women scientists from all over the world to win the world awards in the framework of the L’Oreal and UNESCO’s World Program “For Women in Science” launched in 1998.  

In his speech Mr.Yuri Sterk, Deputy Foreign Minister and President of the Bulgarian National Commission for UNESCO greeted the winners – young women scientists for their “courage and willingness to work in the field of high level science, for their devotion and persistence”. He expressed his conviction that Bulgarian young women possess a great scientific potential and will leave deep marks in the future development of science in our civilization.

Mrs. Iliana Yotova, Vice President of Bulgaria, who was an Honorary Guest to the Eight Edition of the Program, also greeted the scholarship winners. Greetings to the winners were extended as well by Mrs. Karina Anguelieva, Deputy Minister of Education and Science and Mrs. Amelia Gesheva, Deputy Minister of Culture.  


Error. Page cannot be displayed. Please contact your service provider for more details. (11)